Electric Vehicle Charging

Please note: New electric vehicle charging stations have begun to arrive on campus, and installation will be ongoing throughout the remainder of 2023. The Utilities team on campus is working diligently to install these stations, but please note that the estimated install dates are subject to change pending delivery dates and ongoing campus construction. 
The following locations will receive new EV charging stations in the quantities listed below. This represents a mix of new and existing locations: 
Location Number of Stations Additional Information
Joyce Parking Lot four (4) These units are in the area of the ongoing geothermal/parking lot renewal project and will not be available until the lot is restored later in 2023.
Bookstore Lot four (4) These units are already installed and ready for use, located just west of the bookstore.
Raclin Murphy Museum of Art two (2) These units will be located near the southwest corner of the parking lot, east of Walsh Hall of Architecture, and northeast of the RMMA building. These are expected to be installed later in 2023.
Fischer Faculty Lot four (4) These units are already installed and ready for use.

Charging stations on campus are available to university staff, faculty, and students. The stations provide electricity to charge fully electric as well as hybrid plug-in vehicles such as the Chevy Volt, Toyota Prius EV, Tesla Model S, and Nissan Leaf.  

Ev Charging Station1

The Office of Sustainability and Parking Services are collaborating to address the evolving EV commuter landscape on campus. Currently, a valid Notre Dame parking permit and ID are required to park and charge on campus. No EV permits are required at this time. Further decisions for EV charging and parking will be released later in 2023. 

As a reminder, the following are elements of the EV Charging Policy:

  1. Parking in electrical charging stalls is restricted to vehicles plugged in for charging.
  2. Electric Vehicle charging stations are available on a first-come, first-served basis. 
  3. If the charging space is occupied, DO NOT unplug another vehicle so that you can plug your vehicle in.
  4. In order to use the University's EV charging stations, you must display a Notre Dame hang tag.
  5. Charging of electric vehicles is limited to a 4-hour period per 24-hour window.  The time limit on all EV parking stalls will be monitored and enforced by Notre Dame Parking Services.
  6. Please email the Office of Sustainability regarding any EV charger that is out of service.

Etiquette for shared/limited EV charging equipment:

  1. Don't charge your vehicle if you don't need to.  Please leave the spot available for another EV driver that may need the charge.
  2. Only occupy a charging spot while your car is being charged.  When your charging session is completed, unplug and move your vehicle.
  3. Please be kind and wind the cord neatly, placing it back on the charger to prevent anyone from tripping.

Due to current supply chain-related capacity restrictions, only Notre Dame faculty, students, and staff who have a valid parking hang tag displayed may charge a vehicle on campus. If you are a visitor to the area, off-campus charging resources are available near campus at the University Park Mall. Visitor charging resources may change as the campus infrastructure undergoes updates.