Sustainability Commissioners

Mission and Overview of Responsibilities

Sustainability Commissioners are chosen within their residence hall and work closely with the Office of Sustainability to reduce the environmental impact of the University through programming and education initiatives in their dorm. Commissioners serve as the formal link between the student body and the Office of Sustainability.

2018 Game Day Volunteers

 

 

 

 

 

Sustainability Commissioners are expected to:

  • Act as a liaison between the Office of Sustainability and their respective dorms.  This may include sending emails, helping explain recycling changes, and putting up materials for advertising events sponsored by the Office of Sustainability.  Commissioners are also responsible for coordinating their dorm's participation in campus-wide competitions.
  • Attend monthly meetings hosted by the Office of Sustainability.  These meetings allow Sustainability Commissioners to network with one another and receive important updates on-campus sustainability initiatives and events from representatives of the Office of Sustainability.  The meetings also serve as an important venue in which Commissioners can provide feedback to the Office and suggest campus-wide improvements and programs.  
  • Organize sustainability programs in their dorm.  Commissioners are encouraged to create sustainability programming and events which is valuable for their specific residence hall community.  This might be a dorm infrastructure improvement like shower timers, a single event like a tour of the power plant, or a repeated event like Meatless Monday dinner in the dining hall.
  • Sustainability Commissioners are encouraged to work with their dorm's Hall Council and hall staff as an "environmental consultant" of sorts to help green their dorm's events, including signature, existing, or recurring events.

Commissioners are welcome to email Caitlin Jacobs, Office of Sustainability Associate Program Manager for student engagement with any questions or suggestions.

2020-2021 Sustainability Commissioners

Hall Commissioner Email
Alumni Nano Burke nburke5@nd.edu
Badin Genny Jackson gjackso3@nd.edu
Baumer Vincent Miano
Ryan Wachter
vmiano@nd.edu
rwachte2@nd.edu
Breen-Phillips Sam Gillis
Maddie Solkey
sgillis@nd.edu
msolkey@nd.edu
 
Carroll open  
Cavanaugh Eva Homberger ehomberg@nd.edu
mgrasse@nd.edu
mbarre10@nd.edu
  Marie Grasse (Fall)
  Maggie Barrett (Spring)
Dillon open  
Duncan Will Roberts wrobert4@nd.edu
Dunne Eli Servais eservais@nd.edu
  Nick Huls nhuls@nd.edu
Farley Emma Pierce epierce2@nd.edu
  Hailan Qian dqian@nd.edu
  Lauren Sallay lsallay@nd.edu
Fisher Ryan Lanser rlanser@nd.edu
Flaherty Bridget Fuller bfuller2@nd.edu
  Camille Scandurro cscandur@nd.edu
  Olivia Rosenlund orosenlu@nd.edu
Howard Anna McDonald amcdon23@nd.edu
Johnson Family Hall Cheyenne Parker cparke23@nd.edu
Keenan Noah Gonring ngonring@nd.edu
  Adam Toland atoland@nd.edu
Keough Matt Engels mengels@nd.edu
Knott John Clancy jclancy4@nd.edu
  Andrew Verkest averkest@nd.edu
Lewis Sandy Nam snam3@nd.edu
Lyons Fiona Connolly fconnoll@nd.edu
McGlinn Claire Bass cbass@nd.edu
Morrissey open  
O'Neill Gilberto Cerda gcerda@nd.edu
Pasquerilla East Anna Medrano amedrano@nd.edu
  Maddie Kouche mkouche@nd.edu
Pasquerilla West Rachel Hartmann rhartma4@nd.edu
  Haleigh Pace hpace2@nd.edu
Ryan Patrice Serianni pseriann@nd.edu
  Adelaide Lammers alammer3@nd.edu
Siegfried Lucas Barreto lbarret3@nd.edu
Sorin Trey Lane hlane2@nd.edu
Stanford James Mancini jmancin2@nd.edu
St. Ed's Dan McGuire dmcguir4@nd.edu
Walsh Kacie McGowan kmcgowa4@nd.edu
Welsh Fam Natalia Carrasco-Munoz ncarrasc@nd.edu
  Gabi Saladino gsaladin@nd.edu