Sustainability Commissioners

Mission and Overview of Responsibilities

Sustainability Commissioners are chosen within their residence hall and work closely with the Office of Sustainability to reduce the environmental impact of the University through programming and education initiatives in their dorm. Commissioners serve as the formal link between the student body and the Office of Sustainability.

2018 Game Day Volunteers


Sustainability Commissioners are expected to:

  • Act as a liaison between the Office of Sustainability and their respective dorms.  This may include sending emails, helping explain recycling changes, and putting up materials for advertising events sponsored by the Office of Sustainability.  Commissioners are also responsible for coordinating their dorm's participation in campus-wide competitions.
  • Attend monthly meetings hosted by the Office of Sustainability.  These meetings allow Sustainability Commissioners to network with one another and receive important updates on campus sustainability initiatives and events from representatives of the Office of Sustainability.  The meetings also serve as an important venue in which Commissioners can provide feedback to the Office and suggest campus-wide improvements and programs.  
  • Organize sustainability programs in their dorm.  Commissioners are encouraged to create sustainability programming and events which is valuable for their specific residence hall community.  This might be a dorm infrastructure improvement like shower timers, a single event like a tour of the power plant, or a repeated event like Meatless Monday dinner in the dining hall.
  • Sustainability Commissioners are encouraged to work with their dorm's Hall Council and hall staff as an "environmental consultant" of sorts to help green their dorm's events, including signature, existing, or recurring events.

Commissioners are welcome to email Caitlin Hodges, Office of Sustainability Associate Program Manager for student engagement at with any questions or suggestions.

2018-2019 Sustainability Commissioners

Dorm First Name Last Name Email
Alumni Michael Spoltore
Badin Melissa Pavloff
BP Katie Conese
Carroll Aidan Cook
Cavanaugh Sophia Sheehy
Dillon Andrew Conces
Duncan Nick Seifert
Farley Mariella Stephens
Farley Eleanor Gamble
Fisher Michael Pirkl
Flaherty Samantha Zepponi
Howard Caroline Guirgis
Howard Grace Brach
Howard Mariana Silva
Keenan Noah Kelly
Keough Matt Magiera
Knott Andres Contreras
Lewis Maddie Martin
Lyons Elizabeth Horan
McGlinn Oksana Oleshchuk
McGlinn Megan Uhran
Morrissey Ryan Doyle
Morrissey Josh Meyers
O'Neill Matt Sloan
O'Neill Jimmy Guckenberger
PE Natalie Llauro
PE Sydney Brady
Ryan Terese Schomogyi
Saint Edwards John Quinlan
Siegfried Bobby Fiegelist
Sorin Matt Wilks
Stanford Jack Dimpel
Stanford Will Jackson
Walsh Deirdre Kennedy
Walsh Ashley Finster
Welsh Fam Abbey McCarthy
Zahm Aidan Murphy
Zahm Matthew Riss