Sustainability Commissioners

Mission and Overview of Responsibilities

Sustainability Commissioners are chosen within their residence hall and work closely with the Office of Sustainability to reduce the environmental impact of the University through programming and education initiatives in their dorm. Commissioners serve as the formal link between the student body and the Office of Sustainability.

2018 Game Day Volunteers

 

 

 

 

 

Sustainability Commissioners are expected to:

  • Act as a liaison between the Office of Sustainability and their respective dorms.  This may include sending emails, helping explain recycling changes, and putting up materials for advertising events sponsored by the Office of Sustainability.  Commissioners are also responsible for coordinating their dorm's participation in campus-wide competitions.
  • Attend monthly meetings hosted by the Office of Sustainability.  These meetings allow Sustainability Commissioners to network with one another and receive important updates on-campus sustainability initiatives and events from representatives of the Office of Sustainability.  The meetings also serve as an important venue in which Commissioners can provide feedback to the Office and suggest campus-wide improvements and programs.  
  • Organize sustainability programs in their dorm.  Commissioners are encouraged to create sustainability programming and events which is valuable for their specific residence hall community.  This might be a dorm infrastructure improvement like shower timers, a single event like a tour of the power plant, or a repeated event like Meatless Monday dinner in the dining hall.
  • Sustainability Commissioners are encouraged to work with their dorm's Hall Council and hall staff as an "environmental consultant" of sorts to help green their dorm's events, including signature, existing, or recurring events.

Commissioners are welcome to email Caitlin Hodges, Office of Sustainability Associate Program Manager for student engagement at chodges1@nd.edu with any questions or suggestions.

2020-2021 Sustainability Commissioners

Dorm First Name Last Name Email
Alumni      
Badin Melanie Torres mtorres6@nd.edu
Baumer      
Breen-Phillips Kate
Maddie
Maura
Thel
Solkey
Kosteini
kthel@nd.edu
msolkey@nd.edu
mkostein@nd.edu
Carroll Liam Coolican lcoolica@nd.edu
Cavanaugh Sarah
Patricia
Kikel
Salazar
skikel@nd.edu
psalaza.2@nd.edu
Dillon Dave 
Christopher
DeBacker
Fakhimi
ddebacke@nd.edu
cfakhimi@nd.edu
Duncan David Dias ddias@nd.edu
Dunne      
Farley Alanah
Maggie
Hahn
Elliot
ahahn2@nd.edu
melliot5@nd.edu
Fisher      
Flaherty Erin
Norah
Ludwig
Hayes
eludwig@nd.edu
nhayes@nd.edu
Howard Cassie Duncan cduncan6@nd.edu
Johnson Family Isabella
Maureen
Balder
Shacklette
ibalder@nd.edu
mshackl2@nd.edu
Keenan James Galante jgalante@nd.edu
Keough Joey Gerend jgerend@nd.edu
Knott Cameron
Tyler
Kiley
Padilla
ckiley@nd.edu
tpadilla@nd.edu
Lewis Olivia
Eva
Burke
Deegan
oburke@nd.edu
edeegan2@nd.edu
Lyons Dylan Rose Elledge delledge@nd.edu
McGlinn Meg Hilbert mhilbert@nd.edu
Morrissey Ryan Quan rquan@nd.edu
O'Neill      
Pangborn      
PE Anna
Kelly
Medrano
Lain
amedrano@nd.edu
klain@nd.edu
PE Sarah
Asha
Antico
LaBine
santico@nd.edu
alabine@nd.edu
Ryan Adelaide Lammers alammer3@nd.edu
Saint Edwards Western Mulqueen rmulque2@nd.edu
Siegfried Matt Heilman mheilma2@nd.edu
Sorin Alex Clinton aclinto2@nd.edu
Stanford Royce
James
Chan
Mancini
rchan3@nd.edu
jmancin2@nd.edu
Walsh Abby
Marliece
Meyer
Barrios
ameyer6@nd.edu
jmbarrios@nd.edu
Welsh Family Ella
Maggie
Gilles
Kelly
egilles@nd.edu
mkelly@nd.edu
Zahm Ian
Beau
Joe
Horvath
Martinez
Boyle
ihorvath@nd.edu
bmarti25@nd.edu
jboyle22@nd.edu
Off Campus Daniel Rottenborn drottenb@nd.edu