Sustainability Commissioners

Mission and Overview of Responsibilities

Sustainability Commissioners are chosen within their residence hall and work closely with the Office of Sustainability to reduce the environmental impact of the University through programming and education initiatives in their dorm. Commissioners serve as the formal link between the student body and the Office of Sustainability.

For more information, click here

Sustainability Commissioners are expected to:

  • Act as a liaison between the Office of Sustainability and their respective dorms. This may include sending emails, helping explain recycling changes, and putting up posters to advertise for events sponsored by the Office of Sustainability. Commissioners are also responsible for coordinating their dorm’s participation in campus-wide competitions.
  • Attend monthly meetings hosted by the Office of Sustainability. These meetings allow Sustainability Commissioners to network with one another and receive important updates on campus sustainability initiatives and events from representatives of the Office of Sustainability. The meetings also serve as an important venue in which Commissioners can provide feedback to the Office and suggest campus-wide improvements and programs.
  • Organize sustainability programs in their dorm. Commissioners are encouraged to create sustainability programming and events which is valuable for their specific residence hall community. This might be a dorm infrastructure improvement like shower timers, a single event like a tour of the power plant, or a repeated event like Meatless Monday dinner in the dining hall.
  • Sustainability Commissioners are encouraged to work with their dorm's Hall Council and hall staff as an “environmental consultant” of sorts to help green their dorm’s events, including signature, existing, or recurring events.

Commissioners are welcome to email Caitlin Hodges, Office of Sustainability Associate Program Manager for student engagement at chodges1@nd.edu with any questions or suggestions.

2018-2019 Sustainability Commissioners

Dorm First Name Last Name Email
Alumni Michael Spoltore mspoltor@nd.edu
Badin Melissa Pavloff mpavloff@nd.edu
BP Katie Conese kconese@nd.edu
Carroll Aidan Cook acook8@nd.edu
Cavanaugh Sophia Sheehy ssheehy@nd.edu
Dillon Andrew Conces aconces@nd.edu
Dunne       
Duncan Nick Seifert nseifert@nd.edu
Farley Mariella Stephens msteph11@nd.edu
Farley Eleanor Gamble egamble@nd.edu
Fisher Michael Pirkl mpirkl@nd.edu
Flaherty Samantha Zepponi szepponi@nd.edu
Howard Caroline Guirgis cguirgis@nd.edu
Howard Grace Brach gbrach@nd.edu
Howard Mariana Silva msilva1@nd.edu
Keenan Noah Kelly nkelly3@nd.edu
Keough Matt Magiera mmagiera@nd.edu
Knott Andres Contreras acontre3@nd.edu
Lewis Maddie Martin mmarti45@nd.edu
Lyons Elizabeth Horan ehoran3@nd.edu
McGlinn Oksana Oleshchuk ooleshch@nd.edu
McGlinn Megan Uhran muhran@nd.edu
Morrissey Ryan Doyle rdoyle2@nd.edu
Morrissey Josh Meyers jmeyers5@nd.edu
O'Neill Matt Sloan msloan1@nd.edu
O'Neill Jimmy Guckenberger jguckenb@nd.edu
PE Natalie Llauro nllauro@nd.edu
PE Sydney Brady sbrady9@nd.edu
PW      
Ryan Terese Schomogyi tschomog@nd.edu
Saint Edwards John Quinlan jquinlan@nd.edu
Siegfried Bobby Fiegelist rfiegeli@nd.edu
Sorin Matt Wilks mwilks@nd.edu
Stanford Jack Dimpel John.J.Dimpel.1@nd.edu
Stanford Will Jackson wjackso1@nd.edu
Walsh Deirdre Kennedy Deirdre.M.Kennedy.169@nd.edu
Walsh Ashley Finster afinster@nd.edu
Welsh Fam Abbey McCarthy amccar11@nd.edu
Zahm Aidan Murphy amurph14@nd.edu
Zahm Matthew Riss mriss@nd.edu

Program Ideas by Topic

Education/Awareness

  • Ensure that all events planned by other commissioners in your dorm are compliant with the Green Guide to Event Planning
  • Encourage your dorm to consider donating money from a fundraiser to a green charity
  • Participate in Energy Week, RecycleMania, and Earth Week Activities
  • Purchase group tickets for an energy or environmental event or arrange a group walk-over
  • Contribute a weekly environmental fact to your dorm’s stall notes
  • Arrange a tour of the power plant or one of the new renewable energy installations (solar panels on Fitzpatrick and Stinson-Remick or wind turbines in White Field or at the power plant)
  • Organize a nature hike or bike ride to explore local trails

Recycling/Waste Reduction

  • Conduct dorm-wide inventory of recycling bins (see Recycling Audit form)
  • Lead “recycling raids” in conjunction with RecycleMania
  • Host a recycling drive where each week there is a focus on one type of recyclable with information posted about the impact of recycling
  • Put together a Game Day Recycling team to raise money for your dorm

Energy Use

  • Create door knob/light switch reminders about saving energy and water
  • Conduct dorm room energy audits
  • Ensure that lights are off in the bathroom when not in use
  • Host a “Lights Out” night

Food Services

Campus Contacts

DEPT/ORGANIZATION TITLE NAME EMAIL
Central Receiving Recycling Manager Ian Hogan ihogan1@nd.edu
Campus Garden Coordinator Allison Mihalich amihalic@nd.edu
Food Services Student Rep, Social Responsibility Committee    
ND Energy Director Peter Burns pburns@nd.edu
ND Energy Program Director Barb Villarosa bvillaro@nd.edu
Office of Sustainability Main Office   green@nd.edu
Office of Sustainability Associate Program Manager Caitlin Hodges chodges1@nd.edu
Student Activities Office (SAO) Director of Programming Karen Kennedy karen.kennedy@nd.edu
GreeND Listserv   gogreen@nd.edu
GreeND President Gemma Stanton Gemma.J.Stanton.24@nd.edu
Student Government President Gates McGavick pmcgavic@nd.edu

Resources

Purple Porch Co-op
What is it? Purple Porch is a local food cooperative (co-op) that allows customers to purchase produce directly from local farmers. Customers order online and pick-up is Wednesday nights downtown on High Street.

South Bend Farmer’s Market
What is it? This market is home to over 70 local vendors, selling a variety of goods from fresh produce to baked goods to birdhouses. Open Tuesday, Thursday, and Friday 7:00am – 2:00pm; Saturday 7:00am – 3:00pm.

Better World Books
What is it? This locally-based company (founded by three ND alumni!) collects and sells books to raise funds for global literacy causes. By accepting donations from college campuses like Notre Dame, BWB has already saved more than 34 million books from going to landfills.

Catholic Coalition on Climate Change
What is it? This group, sponsored by the US Conference of Catholic Bishops, stresses the link between Catholic Social Teaching and climate change issues. This group is a great resource for environmentally-relevant Church teachings. The group also sponsors the Catholic Climate Covenant and St. Francis Pledge.

Marine Stewardship Council
What is it? This international organization certifies and labels seafood that is harvested in a responsible way, without overfishing or habitat damage. ND Food Services partners with them to serve sustainable seafood options: look for the blue fish symbol in the dining halls and campus restaurants. Consult their Right Bite guide when purchasing fish.

Green Bridge Growers
What is it? Green Bridge Growers is a social venture in South Bend that provides skill-matched employment for underserved young adults on the autism spectrum. Through an urban aquaponics farm, this organization is making an impact on their employees and the local community by implementing closed-cycle methods to grow fresh produce. They currently house their aquaponics system at Hannah and Friends but will be expanding to a commercial-sized facility.

Unity Gardens
What is it? Unity Gardens is a non-profit in South Bend that provides over 55 gardens for people to gather and learn about growing delicious, healthy food. They offer free classes and events such as gardening, cooking, and preserving lessons. Unity Gardens strives to encourage and empower community members to grow their own food in the long-term.